Tianjin University


site map

Undergraduate Programs

Introduction to Software Engineering Major

Update time:2016-09-13
General Introduction
       The School of Computer Software at Tianjin University (“SCS”) is one of the 35 National Demonstration Software Schools granted by the Ministry of Education (“MOE”) and State Development Planning Commission in China. Nowadays, our School has more than 700 undergraduates on campus. The master and doctoral program for Software Engineering was approved by the Ministry of Education. We aim to train talents with International Perspective, Solid knowledge foundation, Innovation and Pursuit of Excellence. Currently we have several foreign teachers and parts of our courses are taught in English. SCS also establishes long term collaboration projects with famous companies such as IBM, Microsoft, Intel, and Oracle. The undergraduate students can apply for the 3+1 joint educational projects of the famous universities in USA, Australia, etc.
Graduate destination of bachelor students
       About 35% of the bachelor students (including 21% of the students who are recommended for master studies without examination) continue further study in Tsinghua University, Peking University, Shanghai Jiaotong University, Zhejiang University, or Tianjin University. Another 15% of the students are admitted and pursuing further study in Carnegie Mellon University, Yale University, Brown University, or Columbia University, etc.
       For those students who go to work after graduation, most of them are working in Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, etc., including but not limited to famous software companies, such as Tencent, Baidu, Microsoft, IBM, Huawei, Mi; large e-Commerce companies, such as Alibaba, JD.com; large state-owned enterprises such as China Unicom, China Mobile, China Construction Bank, China Merchants Bank, Bank of China, airline companies; or Scientific research institutions such as China Aerospace Science and Industry Corporation,  Chinese Automotive Technology & Research Centre, and China Electronics Engineering Design Institute.